SFC Commissioners

The SFC, within the FSC, is responsible for the oversight of the securities and futures markets. It consists of five members: the Vice Chairman of the FSC who concurrently holds the position of the Chairman of the SFC and four commissioners.

The principal role of the SFC is to investigate market abuses, such as insider trading and price manipulation in the securities and futures markets, and to establish accounting standards and audit reviews. The SFC also conducts advance review of matters relating to the securities and futures markets to be deliberated by the FSC.

  • Kim Yongbeom


    Kim Yongbeom took office as Vice Chairman of the Financial Services Commission (FSC) on July 20, 2017. Dr. Kim concurrently holds chairmanship of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) within the FSC. Prior to his appointment as Vice Chairman, he served as Secretary General of the FSC and Standing Commissioner of the SFC.


    In his career as a government official since 1986, Dr. Kim has been through key government posts for economic and financial affairs including Director of Banking System Division in the Ministry of Finance and Economy, Deputy Secretary for Economic Policies in the Office of the President of Korea, Director General and Head of Post Insurance Unit of the Korea Post, Director General of Financial Policy Bureau and Capital Markets Bureau of the Financial Services Commission. In 2000, he left the government for four and a half years to work as a senior economist at the World Bank, where he specialized in the Chinese economy. In 2010, He served as Director General of Global Financial Architecture Bureau in the Presidential Committee for the G20 Seoul Summit.


    As an economic expert, Dr. Kim is known for his strong knowledge of international affairs and deep insights into financial markets. He graduated from Seoul National University, magna cum laude, with a bachelor’s degree in economics and received his doctorate in economics from George Washington University on a Fulbright Scholarship.

  • Kim Haksoo

    Standing Commissioner



    M.A. in Economics, Seoul National University




    2017Standing Commissioner, Securities and Futures Commission

    2017Director General, Planning & Coordination Bureau, FSC

    2017Director General, Banking & Insurance Bureau, FSC

    2015Director General, Capital Markets Bureau, FSC

    2013Dispatched officer, International Bank for Reconstruction and Development(IBRD)

    2011Director, Capital Markets Division, FSC

    2010Director, Industrial Finance Division, FSC

  • Joh Sung-wook

    Non-Standing Commissioner



    1994Ph.D. in Economics, Harvard University

    1988M.A. in Economics, Harvard University

    1986B.A. in Economics, Seoul National University (SNU)




    2013Non-standing Commissioner, Securities and Futures Commission (SFC)

    2008Invited Researcher, International Monetary Fund (IMF)

    2005Associate Professor, Business Administration, Seoul National University

    2003Associate Professor, Business Administration, Korea University

    1997Researcher, Korea Development Institute (KDI)

    1994Assistant Professor, Economics, State University of New York

  • Park Jaehwan

    Non-Standing Commissioner



    2005 Ph.D. in Accounting, Korea University

    1986 M.A. in Business Administration, Korea University

    1984 B.A. in Accounting, Korea University




    2016Non-standing Commissioner, Securities and Futures Commission (SFC)

    2015Board Member, Corporate Listing Committee, KOSDAQ

    2014Board Member, Ethics Committee, Korea Institute of Certified Public Accountants

    2009Board Member, Audit Review Committee, Financial Supervisory Service

    2007Professor, Business Administration, Choong-Ang University

  • Lee Sang-pog

    Non-Standing Commissioner



    2004 Ph.D. in Law, Korea University

    1989 B.A. in Economics, Yonsei University




    2015Non-standing Commissioner, Securities and Futures Commission (SFC)

    2014Dean, Sogang Law School, Sogang University

    2011Non-standing Commissioner, Market Oversight Commission, Korea Exchange (KRX)

    2007Professor, Sogang Law School, Sogang University

    2006Associate Professor, College of Law, Soongsil University

    2005Lawyer, Law Firm Landmark

    1999Graduated from the Judicial Research and Training Institute